The ACID programme in Cannes


During the Cannes Film Festival, ACID (Association for the Distribution of Independant Cinema) presents nine feature films. This programme is shown at Palais des festivals & Les Arcades, Studio 13, Alexandre III, movie theaters in Cannes.

The ACID programme at the Cannes International Film Festival was created in 1993. Films are chosen by fifteen or so filmmakers, members of the association. It screens nine feature films, fiction and documentary, chosen among hundreds of works from all around the world.

ACID filmmakers follow their love for a film and wish to give visibility to directors whose work is scarcely distributed, in order to facilitate a theatrical release.

The screenings, open to professionals and also to the public are all followed by Q&As with the films' crews and ACID filmmakers who supported the films.

The films shown in Cannes are then accompanied by ACID and its filmmakers in the various stages of the theatrical release (search for distributors / promotion / programming / organization of the Q&A's / audience research).

Among authors whose first features were programmed in ACID Cannes are: Lucas Belvaux, Serge Bozon, Djinn Carrénard, Vincent Dieutre, Rachid Djaïdani, Benoit Forgeard, Alain Gomis, Arnaud et Jean-Marie Larrieu, Hicham Lasri, Ursula Meier, Avi Mograbi, Yolande Moreau et Gilles Porte, Nathan Nicholovitch, Ioanis Nuguet, Nicolás Pereda, Pierre Schoeller, Claire Simon, Justine Triet

For more information:

ACID is a film directors association that has been promoting the distribution of independent cinema in movie theatres since 1992. The founding principle : the support brought by filmmakers to other filmmakers, French or foreign.

ACID's support does not stop with the presentation in Cannes. The chosen directors then become members of the association and get also involved in the support of other filmmakers.

After Cannes, ACID presents the films to 60 festivals in France and abroad.

The ACID Cannes programme is then shown in Paris, in 20 movie theaters in Paris, Lyon, Corsica and internationally.

ACID also helps the director find a distributor in France, and when one is found, works on the release (promotion / programming / Q&A's / audience research). ACID then promotes the film among 400 independant movie theaters.

All year long, ACID also organizes Q&As, readings, concerts, in movie theaters and international festivals, in presence either of the film director, the screenplay writer, actors, or the music composer.

ACID is also: partnerships with schools, universities, associations and an audience network throughout the country. 

Publié le lundi 16 octobre 2017
Mis à jour le mardi 30 avril 2019

Voir aussi
Voir aussi
A télécharger